About us - against dull caching

Sick'n tired of the umpteen hundreds park-bench micro?

Sometimes I feel that Geocaching, slowly but surely, has become ‘the fashion’. Hordes of new cachers now populate the websites; anyone who has ever heard about coordinates sets off to find some caches – and (worse!) hides them himself. Without employing any common sense, or moreover, work. Please!

The result of this is already out there to be admired: in paper bags; in boxed McDonalds salad bowls; in surprise egg tins wrapped in tape; and every park bench or telephone booth is being affectionately equipped with a film canister – statistic rules!

Generally nothing can be said against statistic caches; every crash barrier micro has for sure its justification and its value. If somebody wants to find exactly this kind of caches I will surely not try to talk him out of this!

But imho the very point of geocaching is lost through this, and the hobby becomes less and less fun. For many only the statistic point seems to count; it’s no longer that “the path is the goal”. I prefer to find boxes which show the love that has gone into them – but that’s MY preference. There are many ways to blessedness and everybody should chose the way that suits him most! :)

So I want this website to be understood not as a parol AGAINST some kind of caches, but as a platform FOR special boxes. Only caches which are either made with highly technical work, demad a great deal of difficulty or terrain, or differ in another positive way from the ‘film-canister-under-park-benches’ fodder, will make it here.

I am longing for beautiful caches; exciting caches. Affectionately created boxes which clearly show the work and love that has gone into them. Breathtaking locations; cleverly described systems, enthralling stories. Caches with spirit, heart and soul. With espirit, thought, and that “special something”. Things that make the search for a cache an adventure, and stick in your mind. THIS is what I want to find. :)

This will help caching get better again, and may we say from the bottom of our hearts: TFTC!

Regards

The Lady

Über uns - Anti 08/15 Caching

Nase voll vom zigtausendsten Parkbank-Micro?

Manchmal habe ich das Gefühl, Geocaching wird allmählich zum "Trendsport". Horden von Neucachern bevölkern die diversen Webseiten, jeder, der schonmal gehört hat, was Koordinaten sind, macht sich auf den Weg, um Dosen zu suchen - und (schlimmer!) seinerseits zu verstecken. Ohne Nachzudenken, ohne Sinn und Verstand und vor allem bitte ohne Arbeit.

Was dabei rauskommt, haben wir alle schon bewundern dürfen: In Papiertüten eingepackte Mc.Donald's Salatschüsseln, mit Klebeband umwickelte überaschungseierdöschen und jede Parkbank, bzw jede Telefonzelle, wird liebevoll mit einer Filmdose versehen. Auf dass die Statistik brummt!

Dabei ist an sich nichts gegen "Statistik-Cachen" einzuwenden; jeder Leitplanken Micro hat sicherlich seine Berechtigung und seinen Wert. Wer so etwas suchen möchte, dem will und werde ih das bestimmt nicht ausreden!

Aber für mich geht dabei der Sinn des Geocachens flöten und vor allem lässt der Spass am Hobby allmählich nach. Es scheint vielen nur noch um Punkte zu gehen, keine Rede mehr von "der Weg ist das Ziel". Ich persönlich finde lieber Dosen, denen man ansieht, dass sie mit Liebe gelegt wurden - aber das ist MEINE Vorliebe. Es gibt viele Wege zur Glückseligkeit und jeder möge das Hobby bitte so ausführen, wie es ihm am liebsten ist. :)

Ich möchte diese Webseite also nicht als Plädoyer GEGEN irgendwelche Caches verstanden wissen, sondern als Plattform FüR besondere Dosen. Hierher schaffen es nur Caches, die entweder handwerklich super gemacht sind, hohe Ansprüche an Difficulty oder Terrain stellen, oder sich sonstwie positiv aus dem Filmdosen-unter-Parkbänken Einheitsbrei herausheben.

Ich wünsche mir schöne Dosen, spannende Dosen. Liebevoll angelegte Caches, denen man die Arbeit und das Herzblut ansieht. Atemberaubende Locations, ausgeklügelte Systeme, aufregende Geschichten. Caches mit Geist, Herz und Seele. Mit Witz, Verstand und dem "gewissen Etwas". Die das Dosensuchen zu einem Erlebnis machen und im Gedächtnis bleiben. SOWAS möchte ich finden! :)

Auf dass das Cachen wieder schöner wird und wir aus vollem Herzen sagen können: TFTC!

Grüsse

Die Lady